E85 on stock turbo - Mazda MX-6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-16-12, 18:40 Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Power: 3

E85 on stock turbo

My set up: colt cam, chipped ecu, 440 cc injectors, mbc @17 psi stock turbo, intercooler/pipes.
My main question is running e85 benefiting me any on the stock turbo?
I know scaling injectors is a crude form of "tuning" for e85 but the car idols fine and runs good in and out of boost.
I don't have a wideband either.. Practicalities of being a poor college student, I guess
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-21-12, 4:27

Power: 5

There is no such thing as a stock chip ecu running great on 440cc injectors and stock turbo, maybe running extremely pig rich. if thats your case then the e85 might in fact help lean you mixture out and makes the car better/ easier on fuel

1990 mx6lx 13.5@102.9 on 87shot
1989 white pgt 486whp 543wtq@29psi..dynoed 11-9-13
1991 probe gt 373whp at 24psi
1988 mx6gt 461whp @32psi
1990 mx6lx 348whp@ 18psi slipping clutch
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-21-12, 23:05 Thread Starter

I understand what your saying about being rich from the larger injectors but how would the e85 lean it out?
I have noticed surprisingly good mileage which seems to contradict the fact that I should be getting less on ethanol. I typically get around 20-25 mpg in town depending on how heavy my foot feels.
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-22-12, 0:01

Because E85 has a lower stoich' ratio, it actually takes roughly 30% more E85 to maintain the same gas A/F ratio.

So by changing to E85 without anything else touched you AF ratio will go from say 10:1 to 13:1.

BTW 17psi on the stock turbo is asking for trouble, you'd be better off upgrading your turbo and running a little less boost.
You'll make more power, hold torque longer, have less valve bounce, have less driveline breakages, etc, etc.