Engine shuts off when i remove oil cap or pcv valve... could be a problem - Mazda MX6 Forums: MX6 Forum
Mazda MX6 Forums: MX6 Forum User Control Panel

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Mazda MX6 Forums: MX6 Forum > 2G MX6 (93-97) > 2G MX6 General
Register Home Forum Active Topics Garage Garage Photo Gallery Arcade Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowAuto Loans

Mx6.com is the premier Mazda MX6 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 4-9-05, 19:30   #1 (permalink)
  Total: 10 Power: 5

Engine shuts off when i remove oil cap or pcv valve... could be a problem

This is my first time posting on here, I just got an MX-6 a few weeks ago, its 93 2.5 L 5-spd, but anyway, here's my problem: I was checking my PCV valve yesturday just as it says to do in my Haynes manual, so i pulled it out with the engine running but like 1 second after i pulled it out the engine shut off; wasn't sure if this was normal or not so i started it again, pulled out the PCV valve again but this time got my finger in there in time for it to stay running, it did have suction and my PCV valve rattles, so i'm assuming that's fine too. Then earlier today i was changing my oil and i was adding this oil thickener (cuz im burning oil) and it said to add it with the engine idling, so i started the car and took off the oil cap, as soon as i did that the engine shut-off, it was probly less than a second. I'm thinking it's a compression problem but i don't know for sure and even if it is i dont know whats causing it, so any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

PS I did a diagnostic's yesturday and at first it was giving me codes 15, 16, 17, 23, 24, 41, and 69... but i didnt like all them so i reset the ecu and then i only got codes 41 and 69, dunno if that info helps or not, just thought i'd throw it in there.
bman64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 4-9-05, 20:14   #2 (permalink)