Alternator belt question - Mazda MX-6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 4-8-16, 20:05 Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Power: 0

Alternator belt question

I'm curious, does anyone have a guide on how to do this with pictures? I have found some but the pictures are all gone. I just don't know which bolts to loosen/adjust. I'm not good with the terminology of different parts (like through-bolt, tensioner, etc...) I have the Haynes manual but its no help without pictures. I just need pictures to show me what is what I guess lol. It's a 4cyl. mx6. Thankk you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 4-13-16, 11:08

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Power: 5

Garage
if its a 93-97 4cyl, you will need to remove the ac and power steering belt first. Both the Power Steering pump and the Alternator have two bolts that need to be loosened before loosening the tensioner will be of any help. I don't have any pictures.

Let's try and do this from memory!

First disconnect the battery (just in case you tap the terminal on the alternator and a grounded source at the same time)
Loosen the 13/14mm bolt on the bottom of the power steering pump where it attaches to the motor, then loosen (Doesn't need to be removed) the 13mm bolt on the side of the tensioner for the power steering pump. NOW you can loosen the tensioner (13mm I believe) on the power steering pump, that should allow you to remove the accessory belt.