Tail lights and brake lights refuse to work - Mazda MX-6 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 6-18-16, 23:46 Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Power: 0

Unhappy Tail lights and brake lights refuse to work

I have a '93 MX-6 LS, which is having a significant electronics problem involving the tail lights and brake lights. I've tested the TNS relay and it seems to be working fine because my dash lights and running lights came on just fine, but the tail lights still did not light up after I took the relay out and jumped it. At this point I'm thinking it may just be a short circuit. I've checked the TAIL fuse in the main fuse box and the STOP fuse in the cabin fuse box and both look fine. I haven't even started trying to figure out the brake lights yet, but the spoiler/center light comes on just fine. I'm new to electronics, so when I check for short circuits, how do I go about finding one? What should I be looking for? And while I'm at it, do any of you have any other possible reasons why this problem is happening?
Thanks a million,
-BG
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 6-25-16, 12:56

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Power: 5

Garage
..Just a thought, but have you checked All the rear light bulbs,, the 1157 and 1156's. - I believe they work in conjunction.. so if one is bad..it effects the others. When you turn your directional signal on, does it blink Faster..than say, the other side..?? Left or Right.?? If one side blinks faster than the other, than a bulb is faulty. Change all bulbs on the affected side. That's what Ive discovered in that scenario...!

'Those who dont hear the music think the dancer is mad...'
http://www.supermotors.org/registry/...il.php?id=6166.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 6-29-16, 3:07 Thread Starter