Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

MX-7 build Reborn!

112K views 450 replies 46 participants last post by  DarkMx-6 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi guys a while back there was a lot of talk about putting a f2t in a rx7, in my case it will be a n/a 87 as you see here.

I know, I know how can I take out a rotory to put in a regular engine.
Well as much as I would like a rotory the n/a just doesn't cut it and the cost of a turbo 13b was kind of, eh "high".
So I saw on this site that it wasn't too crazy of an Idea to put a f2t in it and I had one laying around so "why not?" I miss my mx6 anyway. And so It begins =

Mx6 engine torn down

Crank

Thats why it was knocking! Now the crank is out of spec. Used one coming in this week

Slight Cam shaft rust could it be a problem? I was told that once the hardened surface is messed up because of the rust that the cam will wear out in no time.

Slight porting of the head and grinding down the valve stems. I've never done this before so I'm keeping my fingers crossed!

If you guys want pictures of anything else just request it and I'll do my best to post it. Sorry about the camera phone pictures, There are not that bad are they :shrug: ?

In my search for compatibility I found this picture ( I forgot where I got it) I believe its a rx7 transmission next to a b2200 transmission. I'm going to have to do this hybrid so I don't have to make a bunch of custom stuff to make it work.

I would also like to thank everyone at Tarrant County College for helping me out teaching me new stuff, both students and faculty.

Blocked Bored .02"

More porting pictures

Still not satisfied! More porting on its way!

Used Crank Arrived
NO THANKS TO USPS!

Slight rust on the part that stuck out of the box but besides that it seems to be in good condition and is within stock spec. no turning needed.

Crank shaft install

Master rebuild kit came in

I've never found a rebuild kit that came with lifters also

New 8.6 to 1 pistons