Stuffing a F2T in a 323 - Mazda MX-6 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-6-08, 21:11 Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa,canada
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Power: 5
     
Stuffing a F2T in a 323

My mx6 body is rusted out and i have a 323 with no motor. Anyone have pictures of one with a F2T in it?
Would i keep the 323 hubs or use the Mx6 hubs.

This car will mostly be a track car, but i may want it legal just to tune it.
LARKEN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-7-08, 4:05
 
jesiotrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Age: 35
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Power: 5
   
Yep you can quite easily stuff an f2t into a 323, and when you do, they haul arse!

YouTube - f2t mazda 323 sedan

YouTube - f2t mazda 323 sedan

Assuming your 323 is a BG chassis, everything bolts in except the front engine mount and exhaust.

You can use your mx6 hubs, but then you need to use mx6 front struts too. And to make the mx6 strut fit in a 323, you need to use the 323 front strut top, with the centre hole drilled out a bit. You can also get the rear tapered spring from a GD, and cut a few coils from the top of it. This way, it seats perfectly into the bottom of the front mx6 strut and the 323 strut top. But by using mx6 hubs your it will be 5 stud, and you cant use mx6 hubs in the rear. You need to use 5 stud hubs from a BH/BHA V6 Astina, not sure if you guys even have them in Canada.

You need to use the drivers side engine mount from a V6 MX-3. If you use a g-series gearbox, the rear and top mount will bolt on, all you need to make is a bracket to fit the front mount. The shafts will go straight into your hubs, and the gear shift linkage will bolt on.

Using a h-series box is a whole lot more difficult, and requires an enormous amount of customization, you have to fab a gearbox crossmember from scratch, modify the rear subframe, and cut an arch in your chassis rail. And on top of all that, you have to modify your gearshift linakge to work in a space where there is no space. My mate did this, and if you put the shifter through its full range of motion, you can see its millimetres away from things. It is a TIGHT fit with a h-box.

Do yourself a favour and use a g-series!

This one has a h-series box in it, but it once had an FE with a g-series. This is how we know it bolts in





Wiring it up was also fairly easy, as the F2T ecu only needs about 5 wires connected for it to run.



There is heaps more pics in that photobucket folder, and there is some pics of that same car with an FE3 and a guru torsen h-type box in it. Photobucket is down, i will post the pics later.

This is when it had the h-box and guru diff -

YouTube - FE3 Mazda 323
jesiotrot is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-7-08, 13:03
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: omaha
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Power: 5
    
Quote:
You can use your mx6 hubs, but then you need to use mx6 front struts too. And to make the mx6 strut fit in a 323, you need to use the 323 front strut top, with the centre hole drilled out a bit. You can also get the rear tapered spring from a GD, and cut a few coils from the top of it. This way, it seats perfectly into the bottom of the front mx6 strut and the 323 strut top. But by using mx6 hubs your it will be 5 stud, and you cant use mx6 hubs in the rear. You need to use 5 stud hubs from a BH/BHA V6 Astina, not sure if you guys even have them in Canada.

If it helps the 99+ protege (familia) uses struts that fit the G chassis spindles and have the smaller diameter strut rod to fit the 323/1st gen proto upper strut mount.

the early ones also have a 4 lug pattern and use the regular GD/GE splines in the hub. If you drill the 4 lug patern in to the rotors you can use larger rotors than the 3rd gen proto comes stock with (9.5" I believe) and upgrade to 10.2" stock mx6/probe rotors, 11.1" 98+ 626 V6 rotors and the later mazda 6 11.8" and Mazdaspeed 6 12.6" front brakes.

Since the 3G protege spindle is the same as the mx6/probe and 626 all the calipers listed above bolt right on.

96 MX-6 full exhaust A/C delete spoiler delete probe wheels and a turbo in the worx. 01 626 brake's98 626 sway bar Altima rear sway bar links.http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2934576

90 pontiac transam. 350 TPI motor new 24# injectors. Rebuilt trans. lots to come.
ls six is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-13-08, 18:49 Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa,canada
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Power: 5
     
Whats the gearbox in my 90 mx6 GT , an h-series or g-series because thats the one i will be using ?
Its a 93 323 hatchback that had a 1.6 single cam in it.
LARKEN is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-13-08, 21:56
 
jesiotrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Age: 35
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Power: 5
   
jesiotrot is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-13-08, 22:28 Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa,canada
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Power: 5
     
But is a G box as strong as an H box, and what models have a G-box ?
LARKEN is offline  
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-13-08, 22:33
 
jesiotrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Age: 35
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Power: 5
   
H box is stronger, and non-GT cars had g-series boxes.
jesiotrot is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-16-08, 21:05
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Power: 5
 
wow. do you ever ran that car on the track. i have driven mx6 with those engine and they move. do you have more info on how to swap the harness. a list of what is need it. this will defenaly be one of my future projects
chiquito1228 is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-16-08, 22:29 Thread Starter

 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa,canada
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Power: 5
     
Quote:
H box is stronger, and non-GT cars had g-series boxes.
So are you saying that an Mx6 LX has a completely different trans with different mounting and motor mounts than a GT Mx6 ?? I don't believe that !

Can you elaborate a bit, is a G box the stock trans that comes on a 323 ?
LARKEN is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old 11-17-08, 1:35
 
jesiotrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Age: 35
Posts: 1,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Power: 5
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiquito1228 View Post
wow. do you ever ran that car on the track. i have driven mx6 with those engine and they move. do you have more info on how to swap the harness. a list of what is need it. this will defenaly be one of my future projects
Its not hard, there is only 4-5 wires on the F2T ecu that need to be connected to make the car run. 10 mins with a wiring diagram and a test light you should be able to figure it out.

Never ran it at the track.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LARKEN View Post
So are you saying that an Mx6 LX has a completely different trans with different mounting and motor mounts than a GT Mx6 ?? I don't believe that !
You must be joking right?

Quote:
Can you elaborate a bit, is a G box the stock trans that comes on a 323 ?
Depending on the model, yes they can sometimes have a g-box stock. But its no good to you as it has a bell housing to suit a B-series engine.

Because they came with a g-box from factory, you can use all the 323 g-box mounts on an mx6 g-box. Except the front one, becuase it bolts on to the bell housing, and the bell housing is different between 323/mx6 g-box.

Makes sense?
jesiotrot is offline  
post #11 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-6-08, 23:37
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: madison
Age: 34
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Power: 5
 
..............
Quote:
If it helps the 99+ protege (familia) uses struts that fit the G chassis spindles and have the smaller diameter strut rod to fit the 323/1st gen proto upper strut mount.

the early ones also have a 4 lug pattern and use the regular GD/GE splines in the hub-------Early ones??? are you describing the base model 3rd gen protege???


If you drill the 4 lug patern in to the rotors you can use larger rotors than the 3rd gen proto comes stock with (9.5" I believe) and upgrade to 10.2" stock mx6/probe rotors, 11.1" 98+ 626 V6 rotors and the later mazda 6 11.8" and Mazdaspeed 6 12.6" front brakes.

Since the 3G protege spindle is the same as the mx6/probe and 626 all the calipers listed above bolt right on---what year mx6/probe/626 are the same as 3rd gen pro?
bpt323 is offline  
post #12 of 40 (permalink) Old 6-14-09, 0:14
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Power: 0
 
is this for real!! i didnt know that the F2T fits in to a bg 323 wow i was thinking of swaping stock the stock motor with a 1.8L turbo but if this has been done why not... any more info
4orgd is offline  
post #13 of 40 (permalink) Old 6-23-09, 17:47
 
DarkMx-6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Keene
Age: 33
Posts: 2,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Power: 5
   
Garage
search for 326 in the 1 gen mx6 section

Mx-7 Project reborn! -F2T in a FC RX-7 (400hp?)
DarkMx-6 is offline  
post #14 of 40 (permalink) Old 6-23-09, 19:40
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: omaha
Posts: 2,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Power: 5
    
Quote:
-----Early ones??? are you describing the base model 3rd gen protege???

Sory I didnt see this last year.

The 99 3rd gen Protege came with a 4 lug hub and smaller brakes and newer cars (I dont recall the changeover year) swapped to 5 lug brakes and used brakes the same sized as the 93-97 GE cars. I know that atleast 03 and newer cars were 5 lug.

Quote:
what year mx6/probe/626 are the same as 3rd gen pro?
See above, 93-97 GE chassis cars used the same spindle as all third gen Proteges (the spindles were the same regardless, only the hubs and brake components changed) 98 and later 626's with the 4 banger used the same hubs and brakes but with drum rears the V6 626's came with larger brakes but still had the same spindle.

96 MX-6 full exhaust A/C delete spoiler delete probe wheels and a turbo in the worx. 01 626 brake's98 626 sway bar Altima rear sway bar links.http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2934576

90 pontiac transam. 350 TPI motor new 24# injectors. Rebuilt trans. lots to come.

Last edited by ls six; 6-23-09 at 19:44.
ls six is offline  
post #15 of 40 (permalink) Old 6-25-09, 18:16
 
DarkMx-6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Keene
Age: 33
Posts: 2,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Power: 5
   
Garage
Oh wow this thread is old, Wow I feel like deleting my post but o-well

Mx-7 Project reborn! -F2T in a FC RX-7 (400hp?)
DarkMx-6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Permissions  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome