Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just been wondering the possibility of k20a2 swap. I just want to see whats possible with a decent budget of 8k. Just to plan out in the future
I dont want to hear it, “At that point just buy a new car”, I like the look of the mx6 1g thats just me but I just want little bit decent power to just keep up with a few cars.
Other reason why on a mx6:
My first car, why not?, fun struggling, Im still new to it.

·
Registered
2,961 Posts
No one is going to argue with your choice of car, your choice of motor is the problem.

I would say for 3 to 4k$ you can turbo charge and stand alone the F2 motor on factory internals and make 300hp 350ft-lb torque with a strong enough clutch to handle it and kill civic type R's all day long.

Find a Turbo mx6/626/probe parts car and run the lower turbo compression and bigger transmission and you can make more power without issues.
Run E85 and I am sure you can get above 500hp for less than 8000$.

The fun thing about the MX6 88-92 is the Turbo charged 2.2L motor, it makes lots of torque and does it early in the powerband. I say it's the closest a japanese front wheel drive 4cylinder car will ever get to acting like and old v8 muscle car (in factory form with a bit higher boost).
Light up the tires with a flick of the gas pedal like an old V8, The factory boost solenoid lowers boost in upper rpm causing power to drop above 5000rpm like some old v8's, it will run quick trap speeds with slow 1/4" times due to wheel spin.

All this can be sorted out but the F2 will always have power at the touch of the pedal unlike most 2.0L I4's.

Al you need to do:
-Turbo
-Exhaust
-Intercooler
-Pipes and couplers
-Injectors
-Fuel pump
-Oil cooler
-Standalone
-Clutch
-Adjustable coil overs
-Porterfield street brake pads front and rear

·
Registered
273 Posts