Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
ok i got my turbo 1/2 apart on my desk. im about to remove the exhuast side of the turbo then i wanna separate the compressor wheel from the shaft.

does it just pull off or is there a method to remove it? im trying to be careful since this is my first time rebuilding a turbo and i dont wanna ruin anything. i gotto send my wheel and shaft out for balancing as im rebuilding a tbird hybrid.

also what is the best way to get the exhaust side to separate from the center section. i dont wanna bang on it but its pretty well stuck

·
Premium Member
18,203 Posts
rubber mallet or some other dead blow to the turbine housing. This has to come off first before you worry about getting the compressor wheel/turbine shaft out of the center section. :)

Good luck on the rebuild...hopefully you have all the tools necessary and correct sized bearings :)

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
rubber mallet or some other dead blow to the turbine housing. This has to come off first before you worry about getting the compressor wheel/turbine shaft out of the center section. :)

Good luck on the rebuild...hopefully you have all the tools necessary and correct sized bearings :)
yeah hopefully. im in school right now for auto so if theres a tool i need ill just go buy it. im already in it 1200 in tools and im in my first semester lol. i ordered the rebuild kit from turbocity so i hope its right.

·
Premium Member
18,203 Posts
yeah hopefully. im in school right now for auto so if theres a tool i need ill just go buy it. im already in it 1200 in tools and im in my first semester lol. i ordered the rebuild kit from turbocity so i hope its right.
The one tool you'll need is the proto inside snap ring pliers.

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·