Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
o.k some of you may remember that a while ago i was having problems engaging 3rd gear due to worn synchros!

well the problem has now developed to the point where 3rd gear is unuseable and im needing advice.( urgently!)

i tried a mx6 search but nothiung came up...

how much is a mx6 2nd gen (96) gear box?

any ideas on individual gear prices and synchros?

what the cheapest any of you ppl have got a gearbox out , fixed and installed for?

so far the cheapest ive found is $750 if i give him just the gear box......that means ive gotta pull out the bloody thing out!

OR ALTERNATIVLY...................... just how hard is it to fix the synchros ?

im an aircraft engineer so im well used to complex mechanical systems etc but i dont want to take to much of a risk......

any one got story's or advice?

I DO have access to a hoist etc.....( girlfriends dad owns a automatic tranny joint!)

THANKS in advance for any replys...

is there a online (free) version of the 2nd gen workshop manual???

·
Registered
7,061 Posts
If your an aircraft merchanic
first thing Qantas did to my year of Apprentices was build a Fe 8valve and datto gearbox.

So rebuilding a box should not be too hard for ya but, knowing you do shift work and time is not easy. It's not a quick job.

Took up to a week to do a six speed HSV box, in a car workshop.
So I say rebuild myself. Most boxes are getting on in age and rebuilds are not that expensive when you think about it as long as your gears dont' need some finishing to remove wear or damage.

I would say find out if you can get a copy of the gearbox workshop manual like reading the manual for a B737. Rebuild kit not much more need other then tools.

cheapest way.

But in my opinion you don't need to buy a 2nd hand box and of course I don't think it's worth it.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
small world.

well well well,