Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not doing this right now due to a lack of funds and the fact that the car isn't working right now.

Goals: Good, clean, balanced sound, doesn't need to be mega loud (my ears are somewhat sensitive). Preferably budget minded, I have quite the family to support.

Intend to: Well, basically replace the whole system. I have two 12" JL subs that I got for free and pretty darn expensive, so I wanna keep those, unless the general consensus is to sell them and replace with something else (either better, or cheaper to use extra cash from sale to improve the rest of the system). I have no problem with running new wiring for all of the speakers/subs/tweeters. I also plan to add a speaker to the rear passenger foot area (behind the rear card [on my mx6] on each side there's a nifty little box that will fit i think a 6" speaker and maybe a tweeter.)

So recommendations? I'm pretty new to this, and since I'm looking to go with a blend of show and go I'd like to use components from all the same company. So I'll need recommendations for head unit (must have CD, maybe mp3 possibly also DVD with flipout screen), tweeters (just replace the two on the dash, or maybe get a few more for the rear deck and/or the lower rear speakers I plan to add?), 4 6x9s, 2 6", one or more amps, crossover? equalizer? Wire?

I read the stickies, but I just don't have the technical knowledge to use the information there. I know that someone else's set up won't necessarily work for me, but a point in the right direction, for a good company with a reasonable price range, and good quality will be very helpful.

Also should I get an amp that has a higher wattage rating, lower, or matched? how does the RMS rating work out?

Thanks and karma to all for your help.

·
Its not butter?!!!!1
4,968 Posts