Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well my air bag light is blinking a 51, which according to Mike's site: "DM internal fuse: blown and short to ground no longer exists." Where is this fuse located, and how important is it. Also I would imagine a proffesional would have to do it, but is there a chance I can do it myself?

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
My real concern is if the air bag has to be repacked, thats what would cost me. I guess no one really knows the answer, well I'll find out from the mechanic on Monday.

·
Registered
98 Posts
When you do find out, keep us posted. I've been getting the same trouble code for some time now. I just haven't had the money to fix it. I barely notice it anymore.

·
Registered
90 Posts
I have the same exact code on my 93 LS. I have a subscription to alldata.com and according to their information. The airbag computer will need to be replaced along with the malfunctioning component. It says there somewhere that airbag components are not meant to be fixed but require complete replacement. My guess is that one of the wiring harnesses are damaged. Perhaps the harness leading to the front crash sensor is damaged. $80 at the dealership for a worthless diagnostic. Don't bother with it. Replacing all the harnesses and the computer will hopefully solve this problem. Do not attempt to simply replace the computer. The faulty component will register the same code and you'll have to get another SRS computer. I will attempt this myself as soon as I source the parts. This hurts the cars resale value.

·
Registered
3,167 Posts
Check my reply in this thread. If it were my car, I wouldn't ignore it.

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #7