Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When it comes to audio setup and equipments for the car I don't have any idea what I should be looking at when I buy them. I want two 12" subs, and an amp. I'm a student, so don't tell me about some $600 subs, just the best for the money. What kinda "specs" or numbers should I be looking at when I talk to the guy selling them. Thanks guys

·
Registered
58 Posts
Stereo Help

The main thing you want to look for is the watts your amp can deliver and the watts your subs can handle. Make sure to find out the watts in RMS because this is the level that your stuff will operate at. The Peak is just how high it can go, but not stay there. Also be sure that your subs can handle as much as or more than your amp can dish out because you could blow your subs. You will also need a box to put your subs in that will fit in your trunk. I ran into this problem with my mx6 because it has a big trunk, but a small opening, so measure the opening of your trunk and check the box size. You will also need an amp install kit to hook everything up. I recomend Monster Cable's kit because it has well insulated wires and a fuse. Let a car audio store do the install if you don't know that much or have a friend do it cause it can be quite difficult.

My recomendation for a good setup at a good price would be to go with MTX. They have good stuff at good prices. Try 2 12" MTX Road Thunder 4000 subs in a Q-Logic box, an MTX RT2200 amp, and a Moster Cable 2-Channel amp install kit.

Good luck! Email me if you have any other questions:cool:

G

·
0 Posts
Make sure whoever does it runs the RCA's on the other side of the car from the power wire... otherwise you will be pissed when you can hear your car rev thru your new subs....

G

·
0 Posts