Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a 1995 mazda mx6 2.5 ls i dont want to spend the money on a 5 speed so i am looking for a shift kit for the automatic and were to find on im not good with the internet.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
it suposedly changes the flow of fluid in the valve body i heard it from an old guy that put one on his grand national

·
Premium Member
5,189 Posts
I knew a guy who said he put one in his auto Beretta a long time ago. Apparently it's supposed to make the shifts quicker in the auto.

·
Registered
2,246 Posts
It's common in the domestic world even with new electronic trannies.

I dont know what exactly can be done in the case of the newer electronic Mazda G4 series transmissions but if your brave you can start experimenting.

I doubt you can alter shift timing without hacking the PCU but you should be able to effect the pressure range the trans a fair bit before the PCU starts throwing codes.

Find the main line pressure regulator (it should be in the pump housing and is accesable in many trannies while in the car) and experiment with shimming the spring to increase line pressure.

Next you can find any restrictions put in place to modulate engagement/disengagement of the clutch packs and open up any drainage ports in order to create crisper shifts.

Then you might tear the trans down and add clutches where possible to increase holding power and overall stregnth and possibly installing larger servo pistons for the same reason.

Since it's difficult to change the fluid's PSI through the PCU you will be increasing the surface area that force is being applied to for a similar effect.

·
Registered
250 Posts
It's common in the domestic world even with new electronic trannies.

I dont know what exactly can be done in the case of the newer electronic Mazda G4 series transmissions but if your brave you can start experimenting.