Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
okay so i don't know much about engines, i'm just starting to learn about all this stuff... i just have a question... don't think its retarted or anything... i'm just curious...

so if i came in to a wad of cash... and i *know* someone who wants to do the work... and for cheap...

can you put a 20B twin turbo rotary engine in an mx6? the one from the 3rd generation mazda rx7... i mean mechanically is it possible? and would you want to? i know there would be problems with it being a RWD engine and the car being FWD...

i'm really just a show car person, i was just curious if someone had done this, or wanted to, or planned to, or thought about it and decided it was too costly or too stupid. gimme your thoughts. thanks.

·
Registered
2,942 Posts
Hello...

This has been posted about before, do a search.
From what I understand the RX-7 is rear wheel so that would be a bit of work but with enough money anythings possible right?

Claeren

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i did a search and nothing turned up.. that's why i posted it.

i *want* a klze (but it costs) so that might be my *last* upgrade. how much more power does it actually give? i mean, the US Spec engine has how much HP? and what is the KLZE? i can't find anything that gives a head to head comparison of the two as to the advantages, disadvantages.

·
Registered
3,167 Posts
The KLZE is about 200HP at the crank versus 164 for the KL03. That's 170HP at the wheels versus 135.

Downsides? Not many:

- it's not cheap at $1500 or so plus installation. Some places have them cheaper, some more...