Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alright here it is, i dont' know shit about caps, i've never used one or seen one installed. but my cousin seems to think he needs one for his sony amp even though he doesn't. i know he doesn't cuz i have the same amp plus another and i'm ok. anyways can somebody give me the scoop on caps. like how to install them basic tips etc. thanks

·
Registered
374 Posts
Caps !!

Well i am no expert, but to my knowledge too much power can never hurt. Usually 1 farad (this is a measurement for the size and power of the cap) can support 500 watts. You can use that as a typical formula. Now Caps come in a variety of tastes, as in the discharge voltage ( anywhere from 16 to 20 volts) To determine if you need one do this, (this is assuming your alternator is properly funtioning) start you car and let it warm up to normal temps, then at idle, turn up your stereo as loud as you dare (well maybe not that loud, but as loud as if your cruisin through town tryin to get attention) and turn on all your lights. Wait a minute if they start to dim with the deep bass in your song then yes you need a Cap. This is very general, there may be other instances that may require a cap or no cap like i said i am no expert. Sorry for the long post.

·
Registered
164 Posts
From AMG

CAPS: Do you need one? Very subjective subject. Basically a cap is like a reserve of electrical energy, "almost like a battery" On some systems when a deep bass note is played, the battery can not delivery enough electrical energy to the amp, this cause the bass to be delivered with less than its optimum ability. What the cap does is act as a reserve supply that can be called upon as and when needed.

A battery can not respond quick enough to the instant demands some bass system put on them and this is where the cap helps out because it can respond and recharge much faster than a battery.