Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I am a newbie to this site so here goes...
I have a '94 (V-6, 2.5 ltr.) MX-6 with 77K miles on it. I am beginning to hear a lot of chatter beneath my valve covers. I recently changed my oil (it also got a little low)and the noises SEEMED to get worse. I know the manual states that hydraulic valves require no adjustment but SOMETHING got out of whack to start making the noises.

Any comments from the MX-6 fans would be appreciated.

[Edited by pvour on 11-22-2000 at 05:12 PM]

·
Premium Member
3,844 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a 93 LS and I bought it at 90,000 miles. My Valves started sounding a bit scary at about 100,000. Ive found that it tends to be a common prob. The only situation i've had is a blown valve cover gasket. This is not to say that there is nothing wrong but it my just be some ware. And not only do they not need adjusting but you cant adjust them. Also make sure you dont use synthetic oil. Natural good, Synthy bad:) If you want a good jerry rig fix try running 50/50 93 octaine and 100LL(plane gas).
BEST ADVICE IS ALWAYS FROM A TRUSTWORTHY MECHANIC!
good luck

·
Registered
25 Posts
Just out of the shop!