Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
27,927 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With all the guys who could/should have an engine rebuild, We should put together a "Where and What to Buy" for engine parts required for a rebuild, be it a basic rebuild, or a performance rebuild. I myself am in need of a rebuild and have found a shop which gave a quote of $1299 for a complete rebuild WITH installation. I wanted to MAKE SURE that that price was for a full rebuild of the MX6 GT and not the LX, and that they were going to use the appropriate parts. For some reason, the thought of getting my engine rebuilt AND installed for $1299 doesnt seem right, it seems like a too good to be true, and I would get stuck with some Autozone pistons and a car that makes 110 HP @ 16 PSI :lol:....In general I just don't trust that price. I don't trust shops that say they will "REBUILD" your motor:rolleyes: I would do it myself (rebuild) but I am a driveway mechanic in an apartment complex that doesnt like you to change your oil. Alter_Ego used to have a guide that had all of his part numbers and prices, and the shop he went to was reputible and does good work, but I don't know the shops name, and Alter_Ego is is MIA for his own reasons. So does anyone have any input on part numbers, where to buy, what to get etc etc

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
Maybe go see if he posted the name on PT? I'm kinda sad that his site's not up right now. I never got alot of the info he had off his page.

I'm out to see if anyone knows of a listing for Total Seal piston rings for the 6.

·
Banned
27,927 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
all of his info is gone along with the website:(

I know a few other members have done full rebuilds, what I am interested in is the differences in rebuilds, some choose to bore their motor out more or less than others, some choose different pistons, whether for money reasons or performance reasons, no two rebuilds are the same unless you are doing an OE rebuild.