Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,602 Posts
im no expert, but compression has to due with the pistions and is defined as a ratio; Swept Volume (SW) + Top Dead Centre (TDC) Volume) divided by TDC Volume- (SW+TDC\TDC) where TDC is Head Volume + Gasket Volume + Deck Volume + Dish/Dome Volume and SW- is pi x Bore Diameter x Bore Diameter x Stroke divided by 4
yea it gets complicated fast, In higher compression engines there is more pressure wich means more power, but also more strss on the internals. By lowering the compression you loose power but relieve some engine stress, so often times people will lower the compression on an engine when going Fi. the loss of power by using a lower compression is made up and far exceeded by the turbo or super charger. compression is not bad for turbos its bad for your engine internals. you could raise compression and turbocharge for large power gains, but expect to pay a preimum for internals that can handle that kinda pressure.

btw: do a serch on google for piston compression or engine compression you shoud find some good stuff

·
Registered
785 Posts
this has been debated many MANY times over at probetalk and some turbo gods have all agreed that it is best to run the highest compression ratio with the highest boost possible.

it's the whole reason why imported engines respond so well to boost. the high compression ratios. if you lower the compression ratio a bunch then up the boost, your car is slow as balls until the turbo finally spools.... which isn't good for daily driving at all and not always the best for track racing either. if you keep the stock compression ratio and just run moderate boost, you still have plenty of power at every RPM.

tried and true.....
-if u want the best power/driveability and a long-lasting turbo system, run high compression with the highest boost possible.