Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know that this may be a stupid question(even since people say there isn't such a thing). I was looking at my stock springs and saw some about 1/2 of rubber between the spting and strut.

Has anyone ever removed this and if I would remove it would it be bad.? I just can't afford springs and struts and since my car looks a 4x4 i'm looking for an easy to pull some height out of it. Take a look at the pictures on the picture post.

·
Registered
620 Posts
I dont know about that

I'm no expert, but I'm sure that it'll squeak/grind like mad. And I'm not sure, but I think the springs twist a little bit when you go around courners and stuff. You'll prolly end up grinding down the spring and or the upper strut mount. I'm sure you dont want to hit a bump one day and have your spring pop through your hood :)

Like I said, I'm not an expert, so don't take my word as law, but even if you took it out, I think you'd only get a 1/4 inch drop anyway.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Those rubber seats aren't even 1/2 inch thick. When I replaced my springs, they are only about 1/8 inch thick.

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Ground Clearance

Is yours the red one I saw a picture of? If it is, you are right, it does have great ground clearance.

I love ground clearance. I ran over a piece of tire on the road yesterday, it was only sticking up a few inches, and I heard it hit the bottom of my MX-6. Man, that sucks--it has never been lowered either.

My girlfriend had a 1996 Eclipse GS. Nice, pretty car. Hit every thing sticking up 2" off of the ground.