Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, ive tried looking all over forums such as CarAudioAustalia.com.au, but no one tells u the difference. they just tell u to search for info.

i saw some post of zorbs up there, he knows what im talking about..:lol:

well my bros got a pair of 12's. pioneer vccs. same as these ones..
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Pioneer-VCCS-12-Subwoofer_W0QQitemZ5824992455QQcategoryZ3292QQcmdZViewItem
my bro says he doesnt get enough thumping bass... is it because the box is not ported... or sumting... im like the total noob..
any ideas.

for more punchy bass he is going to buy 2 10's. and he is giving me the 12's. the 12's are around 2years old, so mayeb there was just worn out..

thanks guys :shrug:

·
Registered
4,366 Posts
ported means you can get more power, because there isnt trapped air resisting the driver from moving....BUT....the trapped air is also a good thing because it acts as another suspension, making the driver spring back to its center faster.

so if you want heaps of chassis murdering volume then yeh ported is cool, but its not like sealed boxes are quiet and ive always gone with sealed cos i like the quality more than the volume.

·
Registered
4,366 Posts
Turbo626 said:
my bro says he doesnt get enough thumping bass... is it because the box is not ported... or sumting... im like the total noob..
any ideas.
oh just read that as well. yep hes a B4ZZ PHR34K so yeh go with ported if you really want that volume:shrug: lol its up to you mate

·
Registered
778 Posts
a sealed sub box will have a much deeper base note, a ported sub will sound more responsive. personally i prefer sealed. you could always but a sealed one and then port it if you dont like the sound.

·
Registered
665 Posts
stroker: ported boxes provide a deeper bass note compared to sealed.... u got it mixed around.

ported boxes are good for R'n'b, RAp.. anythiing with a slow beat.