Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am fairly new to the aftermarket world of cars. i was wondering what are the differences between coilovers and using lowering springs. i know price is a big difference but what other differences are there if any. thanx

·
Registered
1,365 Posts
i am fairly new to the aftermarket world of cars. i was wondering what are the differences between coilovers and using lowering springs. i know price is a big difference but what other differences are there if any. thanx
Main difference is that with lowering springs you cant lower the car very much until you run out of strut travel but, with seperate height and preload coilovers (which most of them are) you can lower the car and you wont run out of strut travel. Struts/shocks soak up irregularites in the road surface so when a car is to low with oem struts you have no travel left whick makes for a not so good ride and sloppy handling. There is much more to it then just this but, you get the idea :)

·
Registered
329 Posts
the other main difference is that coilovers are adjustable so you can adjust the ride height whereas with lowering springs your car is as low as the spring allows

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
has anyone had any experience with ksport coilovers or tien coilovers. money is not an issue. just curious if they are decent quality. i have looked around and am thinking about using ksport GT pro damper system with upgraded pillowball advanced mounts. any other suggestions would also be helpful

·
Registered
1,588 Posts
those are both quality, you can't go wrong with either one
tien>>ksport

if you do some searching (as i've been doing over the past few weeks) you'll find a lot of damper problems with the k-sports.