Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Smot-Poker
1,499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I needs to get some new tires for my 6...
question is.. why do I need to pay about 200.00(CAN) for each tire? my mechanic said I need to get the "V" directional tires? does this make sense to any one? please help.. is it neccessary to spend this kind of money on tires?

94mx6lsv6grn-stik
stainless cat-bak+magnaflow

·
Registered
29 Posts
tires

Hey do u have custom rims on the car? If u do then u will have to get a special tire. (low pro) If u dont have rims and u just have stocks then u can put any tire on there that fits the rim! All directional tires are is they can only be driven in that one direction that the arrow points on the tire. If u have the stock rims ur mechanic is just trying to make money off you he only pays half of what u pay for the tire and then he gets labor! Im a mechanic and tires are a easy way of getting cash!If there stock tires or on stock rims get the numbers off the side of the tire and u can go to pepboys or where ever and get yourself a set of tires for cheep..if u want better tires you will pay more!

·
Registered
158 Posts
The V is just to signify the speed rating of the tires. If I converted correctly, that is the equivalent of approx $130. That sounds a bit expensive to me. I'm assuming that you have stock 15" rims on your car. I paid $150 for 225/40 x 18" tires here. You don't have to stick with the exact same size. I put 195/65 x 15 on my car for the winter and they work just fine. I believe they were like $60 or $70 each and they hooked up pretty good.

·
Smot-Poker
1,499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanx for the info.....
just one thing? do I have anything to loose, if I go with cheaper none directional tires? what do I have to gain by spending this kind of money on tires? is there enough benefit or value , by going with these directional tires..
thanx agin..

94mx6lsv6grn-stik
stainless cat-bak+magnaflow

·
Smot-Poker