Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to install a distributor in my 93 MX6 w/2.5 liter v6, but I have read different accounts of install ,about setting timing to tdc before pulling distributor, but since it will only fit 1 way, what is the point? I am going to mark the head where the mounting ears of the distributor are so as to set the new 1 exactly where old 1 was, I am asking as I have never done it before, I have painted plenty, but never worked on a motor before. on a MX6, so I would appreciate some help to let me know if I am missing something. I will appreciate it very much, already have new PCM installed inside under radio, hoping new distributor will get it running again. Thanks again. Dave H.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well install was fine but the old distributor rotor I had taken off, decided it would go back on 3 different ways, so I thought after having no 1 cylinder up, and the old distributor rotor pointing at no 1 cylinder, everything would be fine but after inserting new distributor it pointed to the 9 o'clock position on the distributor, as it would only go in 1 way.I do not have a clue, pcm from flagship 1 is installed, but no start up. I tried, but since there is not many ,if any people on here anymore, I will have to have it towed to a repair shop for them to fix, I hate that as I know how that works after owning a body shop and car lot for 35 + years. Thanks for your help guys,I really do appreciate it very much.Dave H.And I did have the engine set at 0 degrees on the timing marks by the crankshaft, I forgot to put that in , in the post.

·
Registered
242 Posts