Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well we've had a big load of snow in NW Ohio/ SE Michigan. I'm a student at Monroe County Community College in SE Michigan; today I was driving home from the first day of finals week. Ida West Road was glazed with ice (all the primary/secondary schools were closed), so I turned onto a gravel road to head toward Ida Center Rd, hoping it would be better maintained. After less than a mile, the snow starts to get deeper and then -- RRRGHCHGGRRZZH!! The car grinds to a halt and the front wheels spin hopelessly. I get out and discover to my dismay that the front end's seriously high-centered on snow, while the front wheels are barely contacting a pair of wheel tracks in the snow. I end up getting on my hands and knees, trying to dig some of the snow out with a long-handle snowbrush/ice scraper when a guy in an AWD Ford Explorer approaches in the opposite direction, and pulls up in front of me. We both try digging the car out... no success. He noses his truck up to my front bumper and tries to give me a nudge.. now HE'S stuck. I try calling AAA, but they're backlogged for the next 3.5 hours. So he ends up calling his neighbor, who comes up in a 4x4 Ford F-150 pickup and drags both of us out. I thank them both and head on my way, but on the US-23 freeway, the car begins to shudder above 55. I exit to regular roads, but discover the car does the same thing while accelerating in first and second gears if I use anything but a feathery touch on the accelerator. I get home and pop the hood, and see snow built up around the CV joints and halfshafts. I tried to clear as much of it out as I could, but I could only get the stuff on the sides reaching through the tight spaces. There's likely still snow under the CV joints, and my mom says it's still shuddering around town. Since we'll be below freezing most all week, it's highly unlikely the snow will melt, so I won't be able to tell for a while i