Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys i recently picked up a 1990 ford telstar sedan with a f2 engine as i needed interior and exterior parts. but as i dont need the engine me and a mate decided we could try to put it in his auto 2lt carbie AR telstar ( you know the square boxy model thats built like a tank). we thought it would be sorta a sleeper for what it looks like lol. i have all the wiring and fuel system sorted (im an auto sparkie by trade) but as im not familiar with the AR model i need to know if the f2, manual gearbox and cv shafts will bolt straight up. i know the engine will bolt up as it is the some block as the 2lt carbie but im not sure about the whole gear box side of the conversion. please help me even the littlest of advice would be great. karma to all helpers

Reactions: 83 ar telstar

·
Premium Member
3,355 Posts
Use an AR manual gearbox with the F2...thats the easiest way.

you will need to sort something out for the Right side engine mount if you havent already, as the mounting arrangement is quite different.

·
Premium Member
3,092 Posts
There are 2 options with bolting the F2 into the AR. Bolt the 2ltr bottom mount to the 2.2. The top drivers side mount can be used from the 2ltr as the bolt holes are in the block. There may be some clearance issues however. I'll have a pic for you by the end of the week with another option ;)

·
Premium Member
3,355 Posts
Yeah, if you use AR/GC Right side engine mounts on the F2, you will need to either move the alternator to the radiator side of the engine, or make up a new alternator bracket and use a longer belt, like this :

The bottom mount wont fit due to sump clearance, you need to fit an AR sump, or "modify" the F2 one to clear the edge of the mount.