Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey there Im doing some research on the 1st gen mx6 bcuz im debating on which car i want to buy...... Im camparing this car to an MK3 Toyota Supra which I would buy if I dont see alot of pontential in the mx6's engine bay...
what are the most common mx6 motor swaps, how much power can I expect from these swaps, and please do remember that im more intrested in power than anything else...
ps im a college student so id also appreciate price quotes...

·
Registered
4,491 Posts
Yes get the supra.

There have been some high HP mx6/626/probes. Do a search for FE3 or Fe DOHC

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
rebel2k4 said:
Yes get the supra.

There have been some high HP mx6/626/probes. Do a search for FE3 or Fe DOHC
One such # is Fallguy, running an FE3 and some turbo (PT52 or something like that). He put down 407whp I think and ran an 11.7 1/4mi. I may be off by a bit but those are the approx. #'s, If you search for his user name you will find him.

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
hehe, that part was fun to modify into there. I got it out of some Ford in the junkyard that had a cup/coin holder that when you push the button it slides out. I had to modify it to fit but it does work and is functional. It will block my stereo if I have a cup in there though, but that's it. My shifter is perfectly clear of it. I had to use a Ford Radio removal tool to get it out as it does have the stupid little prongs that hold it in. I used my aftermarket stereo install kit I already had in the car to mount the cupholder. It took some work and some cutting of it, and the coin part doesn't work b/c I had to put screws through it to hold it in.