Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got an '89 MX-6 Turbo, the engine has just been reconditioned (3000kms ago) with a new turbo on board. I'm just about to undergo my first mod, starting with the exhaust. I can't afford much so I'm modifying from the cat to the tail pipe. My main question is, what size pipe should I increase to? I've been advised either 2.5 or 2.25, is there any difference? What's better? Am I going to lose power before I hit the turbo if I get a bigger pipe? I need help, I'm only a novice!!!

I have also got a problem with a leaking standard factory fitted sunroof. I know it's the rear drains, because it is only a problem when I park facing up a hill and it rains. Is there any easy way to unblock it without pulling down all the interior?

·
Registered
332 Posts
I cant help you with the sunroof problem because my 1991 GT does not have one (I have been told that this is rare for a GT).

As far as the exhaust goes, get the 2.5 inch exhaust. You dont have to worry about back pressure on a turbo. That only goes for a natural aspirated engine where if you have too little back presure you could have a problem with the engine.

A turbo is a completely different beast. The first mods to do a turbo is free up the intake and the exhaust. The freer the exhaust the faster the spool up time and that spells more power.

I have a HKS cat back. I love it. However they are expensive. Hopefully some other members can tell you about some inexpense cat backs that are worth it.

Good Luck.

·
Premium Member
3,962 Posts