Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
alright gals, heres thee deal... i really really want to get into working with fiberglass, but i dont know exactly how to go about this... does anyone on this board know how to and could produce a step by step process type deal, or know of a site or a person in which to consult for a tutorial... any help is appreciated

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
im no expert but i do my own stuff ...by fiberglassing what do you mean moldin a kit,building speaker enclosures ,or just patching the holes that rot through our cars here in pittsburgh...let me know you live local so i could show you some of my work . help if i can. big molding project coming up on a 2002 cavi with a 99 drift kit...joe

·
Registered
1,278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well hey again bud... thinking as i have the time, im only 15 and i have 3 more months til i can drive... and i have a job and so i have the $$$... im lookin to maybe do a new dash near the center console with room for a screen, a speaker enclosure... nothing HUGE like a kit.... but just little stuff with the time i have

·
Registered
3,432 Posts
1990/\/\x6 said:
alright gals, heres thee deal... i really really want to get into working with fiberglass, but i dont know exactly how to go about this... does anyone
Gals......hmmmm !
Fiberglass can be difficult to work with, until you learn the basics. Alot depends on what you're attempting to fabricate with the stuff. I'd suggest trying to search a bit harder for info, but the best way to learn is.............Hands on !
Just go out, buy a kit at Walmart and undertake a small project. Basically, there's the glass cloth which requires a resin mixed with a catalyst hardener. It's best to have a general support shape to form and layer the treated glass sheets upon.
Once you get the principles down and gain the knack of handling the stuff, your imagination is the limit as to what you can create.

·