Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,355 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is a project I have been working on since June 2007....time flies when you havent got any!

I have read posts from both Ryan and MattyP and decided that the VF34 was a good turbo to fit, it was about the right size for the sort of power I was looking for....
I also liked the fact that being another IHI product its got the same size round hole as the original, making the adapter plate a bit easy to make...I have made adapter plates for the T25, but its a bit annoying to match the rectangular T25 flange to the round Mazda turbo outlet....
Anyway enough about why I chose it...here is how I went about it.

First I needed a template of the adapter plate I needed.

I cut a plastic template of both the manifold outlet and the turbo inlet, I overlayed both centred around the round centre hole with the orientation I needed

otherside

I cut out an adapter plate from 1/2 inch steel plate using nothing more than a hacksaw and a drill press...

Took a few hours, but I had some time to burn....here is the end result

When I tried to remove the studs out of the manifold, all but one snapped off, as a result I drilled out the studs and retapped the holes to 10mmx1.5
This took much more time than making the adapter plate.
I am using countersunk bolts to ensure a flat mating surface.

I had the surfaces on the manifold machined as neither surface was even close to flat

I then used a single layer stainless steel gasket from a GC FE turbo between the adapter plate and manifold....holes didnt even require re drilling for the larger bolts, I would normally use an annealed copper gasket...but I felt lazy and didnt want to make one up, so we will see how it goes....
Here is the manifold with the adapter plate fitted

and gasket

and now turbo