Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,840 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm preparing to get around to redoing my gauge cluster lighting. I have 2 problems. I've been using green LED's so far and I don't know if I should stick with green or change to white. Only problem with white is that I have to mod the climate control. White LED's are very clean yet green looks good with my silver dash.

More importantly, I need help finding a good LED that is a direct fit into the gauge cluster. (Plug and play LED peanut bulb. I don't feel like custom wiring LEDs anymore.) It needs to be bright and the light needs to be UNIFORM. (That's very important.)

Any recommendations on the LED bulb style?

I don't want this where you get hot spots.

·
Premium Member
9,394 Posts
I guess I have some experience in this area. I buy replacement led's from www.autolumination.com Tail Light Brake Light Turn Signal LED Bulbs.

There are a lot of different styles so you need to make sure of the dimensions that will fit in a stock cluster before you buy anything. I bought these (194 section of the site I listed about halfway down the page) for my red cluster and there were dark spots that required me to do some custom work.

I am sure that there are other ones on there that would provide much more uniform light but I haven't tried any other as of yet.

As far as converting the climate control I have one that I just converted to white if you are interested but I need to locate another one to swap the guts into because I broke the casing while I was trying to do some other custom work on it.

It's this exact unit. PM me if you are interested.

·
Registered
1,840 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was looking at that website earlier.