Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I don't own an MX-6 yet, but would like to (I currently own a Nissan 200SX SE-R). I test drove a 1997 MX-6 LS (V6 engine) the other day and found that it was barely faster than my Nissan, which is only a 4 cylinder with 140hp. I think the clutch was old on this particular car, and perhaps it wasn't very well maintained. Maybe another MX-6 would've gone faster. Nonetheless, I don't expect too much of an improvement just by trying a different dealer, and I want more power. I'm new to any car modifications, so I ask you: what is the easiest way to get a 200hp performance out of this car, without seriously affecting the fuel economy?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
449 Posts
KL_ZE

Read some of the KL_ZE threads. KL_ZE is a engine code for the same V6 in the LS, but has higher compression and is more finely tuned. The engine is rated at 200HP. You can probably get 250Hp out of the engine with some mods, like new exhaust, freer flowing air intake, just as a start (You'll need more for 250 however).

Fuel economy should be slightly worse than the stock V6. Since we don't have the hi-octane gas japan has, you'll sacriface some more fuel to rid of knocking.

It costs about $1400 for the engine. Just swap out the old and put in the new then you're all done.

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I heard that you can't put the KLZE engine into '96 and '97 models of the MX-6. Is this true?

If so, what else can I do to get 200hp?

·
Registered
358 Posts
Swap with ANY KL-03

Yes, a KLZE can quite easily be swaped into any '93-'97 MX-6 or Probe GT with a 2.5L KL-03 engine. You'll find much more info on the KLZE if you do a search at Probetalk.com.
Start at:
http://www.probetalk.com/ubb/Forum4/HTML/002222.html