Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I gotta hurry on the repairs now. My wagon I bought to get around in until the MX-6 is repaired, just died on the road today. I saw it coming, but hoped it would last till I get my MX-6 fixed.

I'm not certain about the piston rings. If they're bad, I was going to replace them. But that is pushing my repairs back further, and we're down to 1 car for 2 people, and we work an hour from home, and 1/2 hour from each other's work. Not ideal for 1 car. And I'm not a mechanic, so this will take a bit of time.

So...if the rings don't get replaced now, what should I expect in the future? Burn oil? What's the worst that can happen?

Compression was 90 90 80 100, then 110 110 125 135 when I poured 10cc of oil in each cylinder. But I forgot I needed to turn the crank...so I don't know how that would affect the results.

Bad thing I see is if I want to replace them in the future, I'll have to tear it apart again, and then we'll be stuck with 1 car again. But at least I can choose the time to have 1 car, I can plan for it.

·
Registered
934 Posts
This may not help, but my pistons/cylinders don't look any better than your do in your website pictures. I have no intention of changing the rings out. It may be a good idea to get it together and deal with it if it burns oil... and in the meantime, buy another engine to rebuild.

·
Registered
897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It should, as all things are, be repairable. Whether I can do it or not is of course questionable. It probably isn't worth fixing though.

What happened with the wagon?

Several weeks ago, I started noticing a clicking/clacking while decelerating from above 45mph or so. It only held until my foot was off the gas.