Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my head gasket just went on my car, should i fix it myself or get a guy to do it. should i get my heads rebuilt or tested or what. im new to this i need help
love my car dont want i t to die
88 mx6 gt

·
Banned
2,630 Posts
Head needs to be check for cracks, warp etc, but it might be better if u get another cylinder head if u overheat the motor.

·
Registered
33 Posts
I say just fix it

Head gasket won't cost much, and may as well buy a kit from Felpro (the best brand available). Get the Felpro Permatorque setup for your car. Also consider just buying a master gasket kit as it will be worthwhile long term since eventually all the gaskets you get with this, you will need at one point or another even if you don't change them all right now. Save you boatloads of cash as well since you are not buying one at a time and making all those trips to AZ for this one and that one.

Just make sure you do your research first on how to do the swap and remember the bolts need to be reinstalled back in their exact location they came from. The whole job may only cost you a few hundred or so, but you will learn a great deal about your car and feel much more confident when you tackle other projects on it later on. These are relatively simple cars, but learning a bit about them makes things much more enjoyable.

·
Registered
1,345 Posts
Changing a HG on these is not bad at all. I have changed them in less then an hour before. If you have a decent set of tools and even a basic Haynes repair manual this isn't too much of a task. The felpro shouldn't run you too much more then $40-$50 (US that is). I guess it all comes down to how much is the guy going to charge vs. do yuo want to tackle it yourself?

It's a good learning experience though.

Nick

·
Registered
499 Posts