Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Super Moderator
2,577 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

So I braved something today that didn't work out. I tried to fix clear coat failure on the car.

I have a couple of inch size blemish on the trunk that was going to be guinea pig (Please note the the clear coat failure reference name in the is forum is going to be Ted! - clear coat takes too much time to type) . I have no experience at fixing Ted, but I tried my hand at research before hand.

After several days of googling - there are different phases of Ted failure. I took the car to a detailer to have them try to buff out the area in question. After a couple of different abrasives, they came back and told me that Ted was too deep to buff out and that my only option was to have the trunk repainted.

I was not happy to hear that my only option was to paint the entire trunk to get rid of Ted. Onto Google I went. Many forums say to repaint and others mention steps to sand down the offending Ted.

After a whack of research. I settled on 1200 Grit sand paper, water, Meguires Stage 2 Clear Cutting polish and an acrylic vehicle clear coat spray.

Steps
1) Section off and Sand down the offending area(s) down to the paint
2) Spray Acrylic Vehicle Spray in a couple of layers throughout the day
3) Wait 48 Hours for acrylic to dry and vent
4) Buff Meguires Polish to even out old and new Ted zones.

There are common sense things like sand in circles with light pressure.

So here is the offending area

Taped off the area

Started the Wet Sanding Process.

Unfortunately it didn't work as I had hoped. The damage was right down to the paint and even with the lightest of sanding I was never able to just get the Ted cracks smoothened out. I ended up sanding down past the paint. I did try applying some paint from a Mazda Touch Up Pen, of the same colour - let it dry then tried to sand that to even out for some acrylic spray. No Luck.