Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm a newbie. We just got a 1990 MX6 for my son from a friend of ours. It needs new brakes. I bought new rotors and a haynes manual, but it says to take off the whole hub and rotor as an assembly and then bring it to the dealer for further work. Is it really that hard to remove rotor from hub? Does the hub have to be removed with the rotor? If anyone can tell me how or what to do to get the rotors off I would appreciate it.

Thanks.

Bill

G

·
The haynes manual is incorrect. A lot of the information in that manual is towards the GC 626 ('84-'87) and not the GD MX-6/626 ('88-'92)

You'll need to remove your wheel, and then remove the caliper off the rotor, depending on age, you may or may not have screws on the rotor holding it on, if you do, remove them.

Then just hit the rotor a few times with hammer to pop it off the hub.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Legal Bill said:
Hi. I'm a newbie. We just got a 1990 MX6 for my son from a friend of ours. It needs new brakes. I bought new rotors and a haynes manual, but it says to take off the whole hub and rotor as an assembly and then bring it to the dealer for further work. Is it really that hard to remove rotor from hub? Does the hub have to be removed with the rotor? If anyone can tell me how or what to do to get the rotors off I would appreciate it.

Thanks.

Bill
Thanks Flyswat. ours must be rusted on pretty badly as we cannot seem to bang it off. I'll go put the hub nut back on and then try again. Thank you so much for the prompt advice.

Bill

·
Registered
737 Posts
Sometimes the cylinder will be a little sticky and not retract making it hard to come off.

·
Registered
221 Posts