Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, just foir kicks, i put the sub i had in my jeep (and sounded incredible) in the trunk of my mx6...

well i hate trunk bass. it sounds muffled, decent thump, but no definition to the sound... totally disappointing. i prefer nice tight bass. (its a rf he2 10" woofer in a .85 cu/ft sealed enclosure, custom shaped for the rear of the jeep)

has anyone done this? : cut a hole in the rear deck, between the two rear speakers, and fire a sealed enclosure sub box with the sub facing UP through the hole... into the cabin. it would simulate the sound in a hatchback with subs... im anticipating much tighter bass.

but - is it safe to dremel out the rear deck? or is that a load-bearing part of the car?

what about custom enclosures INSIDE the car?

thanks in advance. im no newbie to car audio- just this is my first trunk-bass install. wondering what dynamics particular to the mx6 there are.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I have done that. Its pretty much the only way to go. I noticed that firing subs towards the back produces better results. Although my 2 15's are firing upwards...

·
Premium Member
10,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
kool.. no adverse affects by cutting into the rear deck?

·
Registered
488 Posts
There are no adverse effects from cut out portions of the rear deck. You can also try puting 8" mid-bass int eh front doors. It's a tight fit but will work if you are handy with fiberglass. Try firing the sub towards the rear of the car you may find that it solve your problem though.

·
Premium Member
10,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i tried facing it towards the rear :) it helps a little, but overall - coming from a jeep where the sub and my ears share the same airspace - to trunkbass.. well its just not satisfactory :)

ill try the 8" midbass tho

·
Registered
164 Posts
It would be just as easy to totally remove the rear shelf speakers.