Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So ive always been under the impression the mazda rx8 was seriously disapointing performance wise and that basically a rotory unless equipt with a turbo setup was crap.
But after doing some browsing today ive noticed a few pplz running low 14's with an n/a setup still. Its got me wondering if its possible for the rx8 to get some pretty good times/numbers out bolt on mods and not having to go forced induction.

Becuase the 350z is a good example of this altho i guess they are all ready a 14sec flat car stock before ne sort of bolt on mod is done to them so once u chip them with full exhaust, air intake a tune 13's on n/a setup for them isnt unrealistic.

But 13's on a n/a 3.5 v6 is pretty impressive, just wondering if the rx8 is able to achieve these times without need of forced induction or if a low 14 is about as good as it gets

·
Registered
426 Posts
im not an expert, but id wager that you wouldnt get much more power with boltons on an n.a rotary. i just dont see how. :shrug: theyre such small displacement even if they can rev to the shit.
i am interested to hear more from someone who knows their rotaries tho.

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
perhaps asking this queston on RX8.com and not MX6.com you might get some answers?

i personally think they arent that good, and thats not because of their straight line performance, more of their overrall package. good for everyday driving, not as a sports car

·
Registered
2,128 Posts
bolt ons, not really, rebuild the engine with some porting, its possible

·
Registered
418 Posts
could lighten her as much as possible...might a little more of a dofference + bolt ons.

I think if you add a turbo she still would classify as a sleeper since everyone presumes your N/A. But thats not relevent to the original question.

·
Registered
1,143 Posts