Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! This is a great site! So many questions already answered... A free login here has been so much more help than that stupid Haynes manual.

I picked up a 93 MX-6 LS 5 speed about 6 months ago. 1993 was the year I graduated high school and this was an impromptu 30th B-day gift to myself. I found it on cars.com, talked to the guy a lot, got some pictures, drove up to VA to pick it up.

Anyway, lots of things I was wondering about have already been answered by a quick search of these posts.

Here is something that I saw addressed, but not really answered. The mystery of the missing oil. I am not smoking or leaving puddles under the car... I am down about a quart every two weeks. Where is it going? The car runs super smooth for having 180,000 miles.

I have pictures up (not terribly impressive, but I love the car, man!) in my gallery at medinaline.net/gallery/MX-6.

A couple of other things someone may be able to help out with... My trunk lid contains a look-alike after market spoiler and there is also a brake light in the back window.

Do all 93 LSs have both the light in the back window AND one on the spoiler? I know the parts of the car have been painted... I know it has been wrecked. I'm just trying to figure out what's original and what's not. How bad was the wreck, you know?

I know the trunk lid is from a model without a spoiler. Here's why, it doesn't line up perfectly (the bottom sags lower than it should... if you slam the trunk lid closed it smacks the DS brake light, which has one mount broken off from it) also, the trunk lifts are shot and are the model that are for "without" spoiler. Could the sag be caused by the bad trunk lifts?

Next question: This thing seems to be geared unreasonably low (high RPMs) I hit 3000 at 60MPH in 5th gear. I get on the highway, get up to 80 and am turning right at or just over 4000!