Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a long time car guy, but new to mx6.com

I recently bought a '94 PGT that I'm setting up for autox and HPDE events. I've been doing autox since 1998 and HPDE since 2002, and I've had the privilege to own and drive some interesting stuff over the years.

I had a '93 PGT for 5 years after college and loved it. After spending way too much money on a 944 recently, I decided to return to my roots and pick up another PGT for my budget track rat.

The car is a 2-owner with 133k miles. The 2nd owner had the car from 1996 to 2009 and did the lions share of maintenance himself. The car is very clean, runs nicely, and should be a good starting point for a track car. The rough plan of modifications is as follows:

- custom coilovers made with circle track threaded sleeves and Bilstein strut inserts. Spring rates are TBA.
- poly motor mount inserts
- lightweight flywheel
- clutch
- replacement shifter bushings
- camber plates
- poly bushings
- 17x8 wheels
- ReidSpeed Big Brake Kit
- 65mm TB
- Phenolic spacers for TB and IM
- ZE manifold (eventually)
- ebay CAI
- XS power headers
- Autopower roll bar
- Fixed back racing seats and 5 or 6 pt harnesses

Of course, with a 15 year old car, I'm sure I'll run in to some maintenance issues that have to be dealt with along the way, but that's part of the adventure.

·
Premium Member
5,824 Posts
Welcome to the forum, its nice to see a more seasoned member, compared to the normal demographic for new members.

I have no doubt you have be able to provide valuable information, along with learning specific things about these cars from other member that compete.

Cheers

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome to the forum, its nice to see a more seasoned member, compared to the normal demographic for new members.