Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A co-worker has a dead '93 w/ 120k miles sitting in his driveway that he wants to sell me. He said that it won't start and it is experiencing the same symtoms that he had twice before, but when it was under warranty. Both times it was a distributor.

I've briefly searched this forum and it appears as though that is a common problem.

My question is, is it worth the $500 he is asking for it? It has 120k miles on it and is in good condition.

How much is a new distributor? Is it easy to replace?
I've never worked on Mazda's before.

·
Registered
1,283 Posts
hi

first off yes the distis are big $$ but for 500 plus at most new on ebay for a new distributor 300. YES the car is worth that most of us on this board would be happy to pay 800 if thats the only problem....by the way there is a guy on this board named hughes he sell used parts he may have one..

·
Registered
100 Posts
Ask if you can have a trustworthy mechanic look at it to see what else it needs but ya still sounds like a good deal unless it's the 4cy auto then I wouldn't bother.

·
Registered
2,116 Posts
GET IT!!!! people who dont shop around get ripped off. a rebuilt distributor with a lifetime warrantee sells at autozone for $150!! its very easy to install. two bolts, three screws, and the air filter box. and it has a lifetime warrantee!! autozone is very good about honoring their warrantees. you dont even have to keep your reciept, they store your info in their computer.

the only reason to take a second thought about getting it would be if it was an i4 with an auto trans.

some of this information only applies to the v6 LS engine.......