Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
1,027 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Trying to weed out another gauge issue on my 91 MX6 GT project car. This time it's the coolant gauge and its odd behavior. The gauge itself now works (it originally didn't) but as the coolant temp rises, the needle will settle at exactly halfway between C and H and not budge even a fraction of an inch until I turn the key off. I have been driving GD cars for over 20 years now and I have never seen one that do that. I would expect the needle to move just a bit with whatever driving conditions I am experiencing, but not this one. I also am trying to relate this issue to when my fan is supposed to kick on. I know the temperature range the fan is supposed run, but I never hear it kick on in this car. Of course the fan runs fine when the A/C is on but that's a different scenario. I ordered an infrared temp gun to check what temp the car is running just sititng there...more info to follow based on those results.

· Registered
3,011 Posts
Trying to weed out another gauge issue on my 91 MX6 GT project car. This time it's the coolant gauge and its odd behavior. The gauge itself now works (it originally didn't) but as the coolant temp rises, the needle will settle at exactly halfway between C and H and not budge even a fraction of an inch until I turn the key off. I have been driving GD cars for over 20 years now and I have never seen one that do that. I would expect the needle to move just a bit with whatever driving conditions I am experiencing, but not this one. I also am trying to relate this issue to when my fan is supposed to kick on. I know the temperature range the fan is supposed run, but I never hear it kick on in this car. Of course the fan runs fine when the A/C is on but that's a different scenario. I ordered an infrared temp gun to check what temp the car is running just sititng there...more info to follow based on those results.