Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys,
I am sure that somewhere someone probably asked this question, if so I am sorry, but I have a '93 stock 5 spd...I was wondering if there was anything i could add to improve the power and speed on the car...what i am thinking about for now is just little add-ons that i could do at home for now...Like maybe wires, spark plugs...anything like that that would help performance...later i would add others that i have to do in a shop...any suggestions would be great thank you

·
Registered
257 Posts
dude thats REALLY general. narrow it down a little and i'll be GLAD to help. but there's just too many to list without narrowin it down.

HOW MUCH $ YOU WANNA SPEND?
CONCERNED MORE ABOUT LOOKS OR RAW HORSEPOWER?
SOUND A CONCERN?LOUD OR QUIET?

start by answerin those ??s, we'll take it from there.

L8R
Nick
BLUMX6

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry man, I am kinda new to the whole performance thing...thats why...I guess less looks and just stuff to soup up the engine...maybe get some more power from it...somethings i can just add on myself...the reason i can't say more is that i have no real idea whats out there and whats what...maybe some real simple things for now...honestly man if no one can answer i understand...I just don't know too much what to write...just wanted to get a feel for whats out there

·
Registered
3,092 Posts
start with a cat-back. or a pulley or something.

·
Registered
257 Posts
now i feel bad... :(

i meant no offense by that man, sorry if there was any taken. :D

ok, quick rundown with approx price brackets for early mods and what they'll do for ya:

COLD AIR INTAKE** 3-5hp, IMPROVED THROTTLE RESPONSE AND SLIGHT IMPOROVEMENT IN ENGINE SOUND...$50-$200
:D
CAT-BACK EXHAUST** 5-9hp, IMPROVED POWER, LOUDER, BETTER SOUND(in some cases) VISIBLE, COSMETIC...$200-$600