Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 2nd Gen 1993 Mazda MX6 4-cylinder smokes when it starts....if it has been sitting for a couple of hours. I fire it up and it runs fine, but it smokes a lot until i drive a little bit, then it quits...and it also jerks and idles weird when it is stopped in gear. I have had a few people tell me its the headgasket. I have no knowledge of cars and engines, so I couldnt really figure this out on my own

Second question, I have my subs and amp in my trunk finally, I have all the wiring ready to be ran, I just have no clue on how to get the seat up and the carpet up, and for that matter, is there a terminal past the firewall for me to wire the 12v lead of the amp to? I was unable to locate one. and grounding point-wise, can i just ground it on one of the rear seat bolts? looks simple enough and it looks like a good ground, if u know where im talking about. Thanks so much in advance :) word

·
Registered
1,264 Posts
is the smoke white or blueish? if its blueish and it only smokes on start-up its your valve seals, my old 4 banger did the same thing but it had around 370,000 kms on it, I just kept putting oil in it when it got low but it never let me down the jerking and wierd idling could be a number of things

as for the amp wiring the only terminal is on the battery unless you put your own second terminal in somewhere which would require wiring it through the firewall anyways, in both my RS and my LS I just ran it through the rubber piece that the airbag wire goes through and I use 4ga wire so unless you are using 0ga for some reason it will fit through there, as for the carpet just take the door sills off and pop the wire underneath there and for the ground I put my own in but I dont see why the seat bolt wouldn't work.

good luck

·
Registered
138 Posts