Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, unfortunately for me, I'm a total newbie when it comes to cars. I just bought my first car, and I'm happy that its a MX-6. I am in the process of fixing up the outside of my car, adding a TC Spoilers body kit and getting painting some parts of my car where the paint is faded . However, the other day I noticed that something was leaking and found that the upper radiator hose had a small hole in it and was venting water/coolant. The next day it just totally let loose and was just gushing out water/coolant, so I replaced the hose before I killed my engine. After doing that, however, I noticed that my engine was staying really hot even after I'd let it sit for 4 hours. Is that natural or is there something wrong? Also, I'm new to driving stick and I still have problems shifting from first to second without making the engine kick. I've tried shifting at all different speeds/RPM's but still can't find the right spot. Anyone have any pointers? Thanks!

G

·
0 Posts
I shift at about 3500 to 4000 RPMs from first to second and it doesn't jump; however, I rarely use the first gear. I prefer just starting off in second :)

·
Registered
806 Posts