Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
787 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Shopping for an MX6 and have seen a wide variety out there. Most have either faded paint or small splits in the paint but under the clearcoat (I think). Is this fairly common, or should I relocate from the apparently acidic conditions around Washington DC? Also, do the "white metal" parts on the top of the V6 generally oxidize and look nasty, or have I only seen cars that were not taken care of?
TIA

·
Registered
123 Posts
The paint is known to fade and the pits are from road salt/sand. Unless the car was really well cared for you'll pretty much find some pits in the finish.. Remember your buying a used car, it has been used. ;)

G'Luck

·
Registered
921 Posts
i heard that the green mx6s seem to oxidate easier than the other colors

·
Registered
2,143 Posts
my red 6 has oxidized pretty badly. woohoo! new paint for me!! and my car has been garaged it's whole life through winters and in the summer. go figure XO

solar

·
Registered
19 Posts
Don't worry too much about the paint, if you are like most of us here you will probably get a body kit amd repaint it anyway. If everything else on the car is good then go for it plus the guy will probably discount you if the paint is crappy.

·
Registered
444 Posts
still looks like shite

my red mx6 oxidized like nothing else (but i live in texas so who knows). i tried polishing it myself and even had it professionally buffed, but nothing seems to have worked. if any body knows what to do about this... HELP!:confused:

·
Registered
78 Posts
Faded Paint

Try rubbing compund, or a car pollish that takes off Oxidation, then wax away. It will look good for a while, but the paint is fried, and will not hold the wax long.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts