Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I apologize in advance if this is answered somewhere else. Also I have very limited knowledge of auto mechanics as I work in IT.

1994 Mazda MX6 LS V6 (completely stock)

Timing belt snapped this morning, I was wondering if this was a part worth replacing in these motors: does it generally ruin the valves or damage any other part when this happens.

1. I was accelerating to 45 (probably at 30ish when snapped)
2. Tach was jumpy for about 5 seconds and then went to zero
3. I have not tried to start the car or turn the motor over or anything however it does seem like it ran for 5-10 seconds after the tack went jumpy and before it died completely

I know every problem like this is not really board fixable, I am just asking if in general does the timing belt snapping while driving cause other issues.

Any responses are helpful and thanks in advance.

·
Registered
4 Posts
When mine broke while driving it did not cause any problems but if you are unsure you can always take it to a mechanic to check things out in the head.

·
Registered
2,714 Posts
Our V6 engine is non-interference. If the timing belt breaks, there will be zero damage to any other parts. The valves will not hit the pistons. (It's not like some other engines).

We know this for sure. Proof: http://mazda626.net/topic/22749-v6-non-interference/ (The Mazda MX6 and 626 V6 are identical engines). Plus, nobody has EVER reported valves hitting pistons when the belt breaks (or they removed it), either on this board, or Mazda 626 or ford Probe boards.

Just replace the timing belt, and timing belt tensioner, and maybe replace the water pump and idler pulleys while you are in there.