Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
939 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

so in two weeks i am going to be do a transmission swap from atx to mtx.

i should have all the parts, the only ones i am concerned about are the discrepencies on the halfshalf. this is fine worst comes to worst i will order new ones at the time i have only part of the drivers side (not reall ysure which)

i did have one question tho.

i have the mtx intermediate shaft from a 93 (3bolt) but i have a 97, does can someone advise me whether or not you can switch the mounting bracket? or do i have to get an entire new intermediate shaft with carrier bearing and bracket.. (this is urgent)

but anyways..
i am a fairly descent with mechanic, but i have never done anything major.

now i am asking those who have done this before or even just replaced the tranny.

would you recomend pulling the motor, or leaving it in disconnecting the mounts and working with everything in the car.

there is a good write up about leaving it in the car,

does anyone have a good write up on how to pull a motor?

thx and karma for help and these links.

·
Registered
223 Posts
I answered yor other thread also, but it is way easier to do it in the car. Once you get everything out of the way, as far as suspension and all of the jazz it is relatively easy. With the engine in the car you wil loosen the mounts and tilt the engine that is it. But if you really want to pull the motor, you will need to drain antifreeze and othe fluids. I think it is well worth the extra little hassle of blocking the car up and working underneath it rather than pulling the whole motor, that is a bit excessive for this job.