Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello I have a 1994 MX-6 with about 116K on it and I lifted my hood tonight and was giving it gas under the hood and noticed that the spark plug wires were sparking against the valve cover and other various spots?? Is that just defective/old wires or could it be something else too??

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks guys ill do it this weekend. Also I was wondering which would be the first maintenance steps to making my car run better?? It has 116K on the engine and she still pulls strong should I have the timing belt replaced, engine tune up?? I have no knowledge of when either were done last. I bought the car for $700 last week and am looking to make her run stronger and faster. So the wires, new belts, and.................

·
Premium Member
18,203 Posts
timing belt, water pump, check crank and cam seals, new plugs, disty cap and rotor, K&N panel filter, seafoam and then oil change.

·
Registered
2,314 Posts
timing belt is always the most important thing. I can't remember but i think your car has what is called an interference engine. Meaning that the valves run extremely close to the piston when it is at the top of the combustion chamber.

So when the belt snaps after age, like 90% of honda engines, it bends the valves and causes damage to the pistons. This costs a lot more than timing belt maintenece as you've pretty much destroyed most of the top of the engine.

A timing belt job at a shop will run around 7-900 usuaully. I always have the water pump replaced at the same time cause most of the time the timing belt is driving the water pump too. Pumps generally won't seize up, its possible, but most of the time they just start to leak after years and years of running.