Mazda MX-6 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,394 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been thinking about upgrading my ignition system sometime this year but I have zero knowledge about ignition systems. Can anyone offer help/advice?

I want to get rid of the distributor and go to coil packs. I am running megasquirt now if it matters.

·
Registered
752 Posts
From what i have read the easiest way is the Ford EDIS system. The hardest part seems to be mounting the crank wheel and sensor. EDIS Ignition Control

·
Vendor
570 Posts
I have been thinking about upgrading my ignition system sometime this year but I have zero knowledge about ignition systems. Can anyone offer help/advice?

I want to get rid of the distributor and go to coil packs. I am running megasquirt now if it matters.
There's several ways to do this. At the moment, are you using the crank trigger, or the 6 tooth Hall effect sensor in the distributor?

·
Vendor
570 Posts
Well, there's three possible options.

1. Attach a 36-1 wheel to the crankshaft pulley and either use EDIS or the Extra code and firing the coils directly from the Megasquirt.

2. File one tooth off the stock crank trigger, making it a 6-1 wheel. Use the Extra code to fire the coils directly.

3. Use the stock crank trigger plus the one tooth Hall effect sensor in the distributor. This would use the dual wheel decoder mode and requires no mods to the sensors, but I believe it only works for coil on plug if you have an MS1. (MS2/Extra can use this for either wasted spark or COP.)

Let me know which option sounds best.

·
Registered
2,361 Posts
Why dont you use an MSD 6a Box with a Coil and a ZE disty .. ?

·
Registered
2,361 Posts
WEll if you have the MSD box with an external coil all the ZE Disty is for is the Cam sensor and a Disty cap .. Youve eliminated anything that would typically fail with the upgraded MSD components with out any further programing of the MS