Mazda MX-6 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to the MX-6. I think I have a vaccum leak because when I boost, my boost doesn't hold. I took off the Turbo-to-Upper IC hose and put my mouth over it and blew to see if there was a leak. I thought the IC is suppose to hold pressure, no? When I blew, there was no backpressure so my conclusion was a leak. Is the IC suppose to hold the pressure? And is there a better way to test for a leak (I.E. hand pump)? Also all intake hosing were taken off and I cleaned all the oil residue off and made sure everything was back on properly and securely. I also took off the boot that goes to the throttle body and it appeared to look new (with no cracks). Still a leak...Any clues?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Your lungs alone are not strong enough to test for a vaccume in the intercooler.

Usually if you have a boost leak in your main air intake tract you get very noticable hesitation and rough running. If your boost is just falling off, you could have one of the many small vaccume hoses disconnected, or leaking. Its time to start poking around.

Personally, I think you should check the vaccume line that runs to the Bypass valve.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, I also put a high pressure air pump at the end of Turbo-to-Upper IC Hose and it doesn't hold any pressure. I've been told that the stock MX-6 bypass valves aren't the greatest and are prone to failure. Is this true and how should I test for leaks in the bypass valve?

·
Registered
1,247 Posts
ok, umm i hope your covering the other side somehow.... because yes it is supposed to hold pressure, but the system is open on the other side so you have to block it before you test it...

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·